Donna C. Terrell

I Was Just Thinkin'

Take-Me-Back-Tuesday: Songs of the Christmas Season

on December 11, 2012

Here are some cool songs that I currently have on my iPod Christmas playlist. We don’t have a lot of time to enjoy the songs because the season is so short. I also refuse to play any Christmas song before the week of Thanksgiving, and somehow, listening to the songs after Christmas seems a bit moot. But here’s what I got:

images-1

From the Polar Express, an absolutely delightful movie that I watch about twice during the season, Believe  (Josh Groban) and When Christmas Comes to Town (Matthew Hall and Meagan Moore).

From A Charlie Brown Christmas, The entire Vince Guaraldi Trio Charlie Brown Christmas album. You can actually play the instrumentals any time of the year, but the music conjures up such memories of Christmas and the classic show, I like to let the album be a once-a-year holiday treat.

images-2

The Nutcracker Suite (Peter Tchaikovsky) I love this because when I was a theater kid back in the day, we did a really cool rendition of The Nutcracker. I still remember the steps to the Trepak dance! What fun!

Silent Night sung by The Temptations. This old standard is beautifully done. (What a voice Melvin Franklin (bass) had! I’d be falling out on the stage in front of him.)

Santa Baby (Eartha Kitt) I love her Christmas list! I wonder if she got any of her many requests.

Sleigh Ride (Boney James) I love any version of this classic, but I especially like Boney’s jazzy spin.

Wonderful Christmas Time (Paul McSleigh) This peppy song reminds me of shopping malls. This is the only song that’s played in malls during the season, it seems.

And I leave you with one of the many reverent anthems of the season—Christmas Rappin’ (Kurtis Blow). The long version is the coolest. It’s fun to rap along, and after all these years and years, I’m still learning all the lyrics! (Thanks to the person who posted this on YouTube.) What are some of your Christmas favorites?

4 responses to “Take-Me-Back-Tuesday: Songs of the Christmas Season

  1. Linda says:

    Thanks Donna! I really enjoyed Curtis Blow’s Christmas Rappin’. I hadn’t heard it in a while. For me, it’s not Christmas until I hear “This Christmas” by Donny Hathaway!!! Such great memories…

  2. Greg Terrell says:

    Don’t forget Luther, Stevie Wonder’s & the Whispers Christmas Albums. ALSO the best Christmas Song of ALLTIME……..Donny Hathaway’s This Christmas!!! Merry Christmas “CUZIN”

Leave a Reply

