Donna C. Terrell

I Was Just Thinkin'

On Laflin Street: Chicago–And the shots just keep on going

on July 14, 2012

2 preteen girls got shot as they walked past Cooper Park.

Too close for comfort.

Most times the shootings I read about and see on the news on a daily basis happens further north, never in Maple Park. But now 2 girls ages 12 and 13 got shot 4 days ago walking past the very park we were all so excited about back in the late 60s. Finally, we had a park, with swings, a sliding board and a sandbox, just for us in Maple Park! We didn’t have to go into Morgan Park and their Ada Park. (We weren’t allowed to, anyway.) We would all walk together up to Cooper Park–it was okay long as the “big kids” were there with us. We Laflin kids would be there, along with all the other kids from around the neighborhood, and everybody played together. Yeah, there were fights sometimes. In school where the threat would be made from one kid to another–“3:15.” That was Chicago-talk for ” when school gets out, I’m gonna kick yo butt.” Large crowds would gather to watch a fight that didn’t involve weapons.

2 preteen girls got shot as they walked past Cooper Park.

I used to ride my back back and forth past Cooper Park all the time, When I was 12 and 13. By myself. Didn’t think anything of it to go over to Racine to hang with school friends. My father never feared for my life. When I was 18 and 19, my best friend and I would use Ada, the street where Cooper Park is, as a rendevous point for the evening we were planning. I’d tell the stepmother I was going to her house and she’d say the same thing to her mom, but really we were going to catch the bus to another friend’s house to proceed to a disco that we didn’t have permission to be at. Nobody feared for us to walk across the neighborhood in the dark.

2 preteen girls got shot as they walked past Cooper Park.

It’s a different world, and it’s so sad.

People I love still live in Maple Park. My best friend still lives there with her 2 college-age daughters. There’s no way she’d let them walk across Maple Park, and they wouldn’t want to anyway.

Lord, I pray in the name of Jesus for the safety of the Maple Park neighborhood, and for all of Chicago. I bind up that strongman of murder and violence, and I loose peace and safety. I ask that you would touch the minds and souls of the thugs who make a simple thing like walking past a park on a summer night unthinkable. I ask  for salvation, conviction and conversion. Next I ask that they will have the desire to stop this behavior. Only you can do it, Lord.

Those two girls are out of the hospital and on the way to recovery. Luckily, they weren’t hurt badly. I could go on about this and write a more in-depth post, but I wanted to address this now. It was on my mind. I don’t like that the cops don’t really patrol Maple Park that much. My father is still waiting for them to respond to a call he made last year about some thugs hanging on a corner. Dad suspected drug activity. Maybe now the police will come faster. Because 2 preteen girls got shot as they walked past Cooper Park.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “On Laflin Street: Chicago–And the shots just keep on going

  1. Lewis Bush says:

    Sorrry to say Donna, Black on Black violence has been going on forever. People will never change.

Leave a Reply

